Radio Wave Lunch

Returning to work just 6 weeks after new baby Bambina arrived brought with it some routine adjustments (if not a thousand) for me on weekdays.  Before I was diligent about the Dave Ramsey budget plan (insert eye-roll or pat on the back here), I was really good about not bringing a lunch to work.  I was so good, I didn’t mind spending $10-15 for escaping from my office desk for an hour each weekday to unwind and indulge.  Indulge I did.  Besides cleaning out my wallet, I actually got bored with eating out.

So, now I’ve found a compromise that is both healthier for my well-being and my wallet (and that family “budget”).  I bring my lunch three or four days a week and buy lunch on the fifth.  After the U.S.’s BPA craze and plastics industry turn-around on all things labeled plastic and microwave safe, I still didn’t believe sending microwaves through my food through plastic was a good idea.  Some people can eliminate microwave use all together. That is on my future to-do list I’ll admit, but in the meantime, I reheat food in ceramic at work.  Nothing like a spicy black bean burger on a whole wheat bun smothered in hummus with fresh sliced tomatoes and a few radio waves.

From the looks of our shared office fridge, and the line for microwave at noon, most of my coworkers rely on frozen or packaged food for lunch.  All reheated in various “safe” plastics or non-recyclable containers.  It could be the superstitious Asian part of me not accepting that the radio waves are okay for the plastic, wrap, and the food.  Ah well,  How do you do lunch?

Image

4 thoughts on “Radio Wave Lunch

  1. I usually eat PB&J for lunch. When I eat leftovers, I mostly reheat in a reusable plastic container or one of our dinner plates. Haven’t really thought about reheating in plastics too much (not sure why – I’m usually picky about these things).

    So do you not believe the testing to be accurate?

    • For me, it was a combination of reading the research/study findings and the companies’ own statements about BPA being harmful in their own products. I was starting to notice how easily plastic containers melted in the microwave- dependent on the type of food in the container. Melting, or the near-melting softening of plastic must release some chemical compounds is my guess.

  2. The hubs and I talked about this the other night… reheating food in plastic vs ceramic. I’ve decided that pyrex storage containers are the way to go for our household. The only way for us to commit is to completely get rid of our plastic containers and start a new. Alas it will be expensive, but I share your concerns with the microwave. Though, I am not a cook and I happily credit my ability to sustain all these years to the microwave. What’s a girl to do?

Leave a Reply

